Daily Archives: May 26, 2010

Everything but the Cable Needle

The Life Of Cate has been unendingly busy and exhausting these past few weeks (hence no new blog posts–sorry). Here’s a short list of the happenings, sprinkled in with the few stitchy and crafty things I have been doing.

1) Getting Ready to Move. This included– but was not limited to– making the decision that it was no longer worth it for Fantastic and I to put up with our vile landlord, finding a new place to live, figuring out how to get our safety deposit back, consulting the Law, apartment hunting, signing a new lease, and then, when we realized the lease starts June 1st (and ours runs through then end of August):

2) Sublease hunting. I don’t know how to stress this enough, but finding subtenants, at least in my experience, really really really stinks. A lot. We think we have found two, but we still have to get the papers back that they took to sign. Ugh.

My world in a photograph: bnxes, organized heaps, and one very warm napping kitty smack in the middle of where I need to walk next.

3) Starting a New Job. I am now waitressing for the first time in my life, and summer looks a lot more fun without World History before 1500 (yes yes, I took after 1500 first). However, I had to do a quick flip flop to get financial aid canceled and my registration fee refunded (although I don’t know where it is– it’s gone, and I am sad, and I want it back pronto). And now I am getting up at 5am, which is a long shot earlier than I usually do, and I have these little panic attacks that I am not going to remember which sandwiches I have to ask “Would you like that on White, Wheat, or Pita?” and which ones I can’t ask that at all or Big Trouble ensues. I did, however, find a pair of shoes that allows my feet not to die on me and my bank account to remain on life support:

4) Packing. This I consider separate from moving, because it is a task unto itself. Unfortunately, with the new job and the obnoxious heat and humidity we’ve been experiencing, this is not going as speedily as it should.  You would think living in Wisconsin would exempt you from 90 degrees in May, but not this year. At least I will lose some weight, since the heat makes me nauseous. As much as I complain about the cold, I do enjoy it more than this. I am a knitter, after all. But packing– aiiggh. I hate to move because I detest packing. I have dreams about this too. They are about as scary as the sandwich dreams.

This part of the house gives me hope that we will indeed finish packing before moving day comes. Well, sort of.

5) Collecting bill money from my useless lazy and underhanded landlord and sleazy lying housemate. Fantastic and I have been doing this for weeks. It is the reason we are moving. Luckily, the ladies who are replacing us will not have to put up with this (otherwise we’d be stuck, no one would take the place), because in three months, things will change, and we “only” get disconnection notices every three months or so. I am so sick of people’s crap though. I admit that I have lost some of my nice-ness from this, although that may not be a bad thing in the long run.

6) Getting my computer back up and running. A few weeks ago, my computer-literate friend took pity on my poor Mac, which has been too sad to function since January, and has been helping me get it up and running again. This means lots of updates (“What do you mean I have to re-install the Microsoft Word converter again?!?”) and time spent replacing all of the files I lost.

But the knitting. I am a moron and took lots of pictures of my empty apartment and overlooked the knitting. Here are the few that I have with me now:

This is the same sock as last time. I haven’t been knitting an awful lot lately.

This barely qualifies since I cast it on about an hour ago:

 

The stitchi-ness has definitely taken a nose-dive, but I’ve been mucking around with my paints again. No pictures of those. It’s been a nice remedy though to all the messiness.

I did, in the early days of packing tackle the stash (I know how to prioritize). I did something similar to what the Yarn Harlot did to her sock yarn and Alex Tinsley did to her stash, except I applied it to all almost all of my yarn, and my groupings are less scientific: grouped by type, project idea, or whatever else made sense in my head at the time. Oh yeah, and I didn’t add any helpful slips of paper to remind me why I put it where I did. That might have been a good idea.  Then I put it all back in my yarn bags.

The good new is Kitty Dearest can no longer drag anything out in the wee hours of the morning and lay wasted to it. One point to me, bringing the score to me, 3, Kitty D, 42. Look out!

So yeah. Welcome summer break!